Read this: Branded (Fall of Angels, Book 1)

Jessica’s had the nightmares for as long as she can remember. Nightmares of being judged for people who have died, of being branded by the angels. Her friends and family think she’s a crazy because of it all. Yet she carries the mark of the condemned, seared into the back of her neck, and hides it and herself away from the world.

But when two men she can’t ignore enter her life everything changes, including the nightmares. The two of them couldn’t be more different. She will do anything to be with one of them. Even tell him the truth about angels, why she never sleeps, and the scar on the back of her neck. But one of the two has set events into motion what will pull her toward her own judgment and turn her into the object of her greatest fear.

Angels. When you think of these otherworldly beings a certain image comes to mind, doesn’t it? White robes, golden flowing hair, shiny halos. All of these things are what I used to think of as well. But after reading Branded my image of angels is completely different. Cold, calculated and merciless pop into my head now. Angels with eyes like deep pools and vehemence in their hearts. Thank you Keary Taylor! It’s refreshing to see that Angels are not as perfect as they seem to be.

To say that I loved Jessica, the protagonist, is a huge understatement. I didn’t just love her, I felt like I was a part of her.  She was so strong-willed, so courageous. Despite the nightmares that plague her sleep, Jessica was able to lead a surprisingly normal life. In fact it was her ability to be so stoic that, without doubt, drew me in.

As for the story itself, well its fabulous! The two men that enter Jessica’s life are poles apart from one another and mirror the emotions at war within her. In an effort not to spoil this book for all of you, since I hope to convince you to go and read it, I won’t divulge too much about Jessica’s relationships. All I’ll say is that both men are utterly delectable, and both have their good and bad points. And the ending? Stunning! Again, I won’t ruin it, but if you don’t like it I’m not sure we can be friends.

I’m kidding. Sort of…..

Having read the complete trilogy – Branded, Forsaken Vindicated – I can honestly say that they are novels that I will never forget reading! I wholeheartedly recommend them to all of you out there who might be a little skeptical of angels as characters. This trilogy guarantees to put a whole new spin on your image of them. A solid trilogy that is definitely on my 2012 favourites list.

Go on… read this!!! (You know want to!)

So what do you think??

