Writing Music

Music plays a predominant role in my writing process, mostly because it captures the tone of whatever chapter or scene I am working on. If I can’t find the right song I spend ages just staring at my laptop, not writing! If I find the right one, I can get lost in a Word document for a very, very long time.

I am currently writing a Young Adult novel which, I’ll admit, started off incredibly slowly. My focus as I tried to build my world wasn’t what it should have been, probably because of a lack of clarity in my own mind. The plot and the characters were muddled and I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to un-muddle them either. Hence it was difficult to find music, when I wasn’t even sure what I needed.

And then I found it, or rather, I stumbled upon it completely by accident… an entire album of songs that really captured the essence of what I was trying to write. Incredibly it was the Hunger Games Soundtrack, Songs from District Twelve and Beyond (not all the songs but a significant portion of them); and my daughter (a massive Hunger Games fan) seemed to playing it on repeat.

The Hunger Games: Songs From District 12 And Beyond
I’m not sure if this happens to anyone else but when I listen to this album I feel as if everything I am doing is epic… from putting pen to paper to tackling a pile of ironing to cooking my family their evening meal. I hope you take the time to listen, and enjoy it too!

If you write, why not tell me about your music preferences in the comments! I’m always interested in discovering new music if you want to recommend something…

So what do you think??

