Writing Seasons

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns” ~ George Eliot


Ah, autumn, that special time between lazy summer days and the onset of my seasonal affective disorder. It is also my favourite time of year.

Of course, summer is most commonly associated with sunshine… and I love sunshine! Aside from stopping me from going mad, it is warm and nourishing and promotes life. It makes me feel relaxed and free, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed… you get the picture?! But all that perkiness also serves as a distraction from my writing, which is not a good thing when trying write a rough draft of a first novel. Indeed, it is incredibly difficult for me to write when the warm summer sun is beating down; hence the progress of my novel slowed in recent months.

I much prefer cool autumn days when I can wrap up in a gilet and scarf, or pull on a pair of boots and trek though piles of vividly coloured leaves that make a glorious crunching sound underfoot. And of course there is an abundance of deliciously warm drinks to soothe and replenish my somewhat sun-scorched imagination. Yes autumn provides an opportunity for cozy reflection and increased productivity.


Winter is a close second in the seasonal stakes – I love snow, snuggling on the sofa with a warm blanket, seeing my breath in the frosty air and Christmas; but my mood does take a dip during the shorter days and some of my writing time is lost in trying to entice happy thoughts.

Spring here in Manchester, England tends to last about two weeks, if it comes at all, and it is certainly nothing to write home about… so I won’t!

So there you have it, writing for me is best when I feel cozy and reflective, and that’s during autumn. How about you? What season inspires you most?

6 thoughts on “Writing Seasons

  1. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

So what do you think??

